Market Technicians Association - MTA - Chartered Market Technician - CMT - Technical Analysis
Welcome Guest! 
Shop MTA - Technical Analysis Shopping Cart
Charles H Dow Award

Charles H Dow - Award for Technical Analysis ExcellenceIn 1994 the MTA established the Charles H. Dow award to highlight outstanding research in technical analysis. The Award has received over 160 submissions, and recognized 17 papers for their excellence. Of the 21 authors/coauthors who have won, eight have gone on to publish books based on their submissions to the Charles H. Dow Award. Winners have presented at the MTA Annual Symposium, local chapter meetings, and participated in MTA podcasts and/or educational web-series. The Award carries a prize of $5,000 and is presented at the MTA Gala Awards Dinner held in New York City each April.

The Charles H. Dow Award embodies excellence and creativity in the field of Technical Analysis. Winning papers have created successful trading systems, insights into theories of how markets function and have represented the richness and depth of technical analysis. 

Winners have been mentioned in various media outlets including: Barron’s, Bloomberg News, CNBC, CNN Money, Investing Daily, Minyanville, the Street, Thomson Reuters, and the Wall Street Journal.

MTA Members are dedicated to increasing the depth of technical analysis across disciplines with the ultimate aim of expanding the knowledge and practice of technical analysis. The competition represents this dedication, and the winning submission is distributed to our vast membership spanning 85 countries and approximately 4500 members.

The competition is open to all practitioners and academics. The submission will be judged based on its ability to enhance the understanding of market action, the concepts of technical analysis, and thorough research.  Additional information on the Standards of Judgment, included within the Guidelines for Submissions.

For more information on the Charles H. Dow Award, please contact Ajay G. Jani, CMT at

Nominations are closed for 2015

Charles V. Bilello, CMT and Michael A. Gayed, CFA, Honored as 2014 Dow Award Winners

The Market Technicians Association is pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 Charles H. Dow Award as Charles V. Bilello, CMT and Michael A. Gayed, CFA for their submission, "An Intermarket Approach to Beta Rotation: The Strategy, Signal, and Power of Utilities."

The 2014 submissions represented a diverse and competitive array of research. The MTA is proud to recognize an outstanding paper that Demonstrates the Value of Technical Analysis to Active Asset Management.

The full version of their paper can be found by visiting

Charles H Dow
Award Winners

* Click on the name of the award winner to view their award-winning paper as a downloadable PDF.

Market Technicians Association on Facebook - Technical Analysis - Chartered Market TechnicianMarket Technicians Association on LinkedIn - Technical Analysis - Chartered Market Technician - TwitterMarket Technicians Association on LinkedIn - Technical Analysis - Chartered Market Technician